Review: Dreamology, by Lucy Keating

Versión en español aquí.

After a busy month of moving and an amazing two-week trip to Thailand and Cambodia, I’m back with a bunch of pending reviews. First of all, I’ve finished Pivot Point by Kasie West, a fantasy or science fiction (I’m still not sure) book for everyone looking for something a little more contemporary, and Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch, YA high fantasy perfect for fans of Throne of Glass. And speaking of, I’ve started the fourth book of the saga in the hope that it would be better than the third one… and I’m sorry to tell you that I’m 30% in and it seems to be worse.

Seguir leyendo

Review: “Carry On”, by Rainbow Rowell

Versión en español aquí.

I know that this week I was supposed to talk about Only Ever Yours, by Louise O’Neill, but it is TOO SOON. I honestly don’t know what to say about that book! I was so shocked when I finished it that I guess I need some more time to digest everything. I will publish that review next week, I promise. But today I will be talking about Carry On, by Rainbow Rowell.

Seguir leyendo

Review: “The Lie Tree”, by Frances Hardinge

Versión en español aquí.

Since its creation in 1985, the Costa Literary Prize has chosen the best book of the year from the categories of novel, first novel, biography, children’s book and poetry. Last January, the judges made public their decision about the best title of 2015, and this time it was a juvenile story: The Lie Tree, by the Biritish author Frances Hardinge. The last (and first) children’s book that won the prize was The Amber Spyglass, by Philip Pullman, in 2001.

Seguir leyendo

The key features of best sellers according to a literary agent

Versión en español aquí.

A week ago I was fortunate to attend the TEDx Oxford Conference. This year, the theme of the day was #FindX, and speakers covered all sorts of topics related to finding  your purpose or vocation, from music to literature, through economy, feminism or physics. My favourite speech was offered by Jonny Geller, CEO of Curtis Brown, the most important literary and talents agency of the United Kingdom. Geller represents a wide variety of bestselling authors, including Tracy Chevalier (The Girl With the Pearl Earring), John Le Carré (A Delicate Truth) and David Nicholls (One Day).

Seguir leyendo